The road less traveled…

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Goodbye Kat, hello to the Whites.

Kat decided that the Whites were something she didn’t really care to hike at this point, especially after the last 911 situation. So while I geared up for a fast hike through one of the most difficult parts of the A.T., Kat headed off to Dover, NH to stay with a friend and do some other hiking/rock-climbing activities that were better suited to her liking.

 
The reason I had to get through the Whites fairly quickly was because I needed to get as close to Maine as possible for the Parker Pond Pig Roast that is held every summer at my home in Maine. It was simply an event that I refused to miss.

 
The first major climb of the Whites is Mt. Moosilauke, 4,802 ft in elevation. It was a gorgeous day with amazing views and a great jump-start in the Whites. The descent on the other side was a little more challenging then usual and was indeed a good glimpse at what I would be seeing the rest of the week. Steep rock with steps built into the sides or ladders to negotiate my way through the trail…it’s going to be interesting.

The first hint that the Whites might me a little bit challenging…

The “trail”

More of the “trail”

Blue Fox and Sketch, on top of some mountain…

Sketch – Somewhere on top of Mt Moosilauke

More Mt Moosilauke

Sketch, Inchworm, Scout, and another stranger taking a break on top of Mt Mousilauke

Summit of Mt. Moosilauke

One day I realized that I actually didn’t have enough food to get through the Whites and I needed to head into Lincoln, NH to get some supplies before I headed on. Blue Fox asked to be my “town buddy”. Basically he was using me to get a hitch to town since its easier getting a hitch since I’m a girl. But I was okay being used. He did help me search for Kat. Sadly, hitching with Blue Fox was the one and only time that I failed to get a hitch. It was extremely disappointing. We actually had to go to the nearby visitors center and call a shuttle. It was only $5/person for the shuttle, but still, it broke my perfect record. And to this day I will always blame Blue Fox. 😉

 

 
We did the basic re-supply and were just chilling at an ice cream shop relaxing in town and I was chatting to a bunch of people in the little shop while Blue Fox was on the phone with his mom. There was a family sitting next to us who were fascinated with us hiking the whole A.T. and were asking me the usual million and two questions, but I was okay with it, I was in a great mood and had just devoured a huge brownie sundea, so bring on the questions. The family eventually left and we were getting ready to leave as well when the 2 girls in the family came over to our table and said they wanted to help us with the rest of our trip and handed me a $100 bill. Blue Fox and I were both visibly shocked with our mouths hanging open. We walked outside and thanked the rest of the family profusely! Precious trail magic that was so unexpected and wonderful. People are awesome. We were especially thankful for the extra cash because in the Whites the shelters/campsites cost money for thru-hikers to stay in. The only way we could stay somewhere without paying is by stealth-camping somewhere or getting a work-for-stay in one of the AMC lodges along the way, which is sometimes difficult. So it is a little stressful trying to plan your trip through the Whites, especially on a tight budget.

The great ice cream stop in Lincoln, NH

Blue Fox and I finally got back out on the trail and hiked up to the Franconia Ridge. We found an amazing stealth site that was just barely below treeline and were able to watch an amazing sunrise the next morning. Being so close to the treeline, our morning begin with hiking along the Ridge with amazing views all around. It was truly one of my favorite mornings and we took our time hiking, soaking it all in.

View from the ridge where Blue Fox and I stealth camped

Our stealth Site

Blue Fox, moving a sign that said we couldn’t camp there, we had no other options. Don’t tell on us.

Sunrise from the ridge where we camped

Morning hike on Franconia Ridge

Blue Fox, Franconia Ridge

View of Franconia Ridgeline

 

 

 

August 29, 2012 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

