The road less traveled…

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Rain = Wet EVERYTHING!

It started in the Bigelows, and it didn’t stop for days. There was so much water on the trail, there was nothing else to do except stomp through it. There was a certain level of fun splashing through the puddles, but after being soaked for hours and hours, the fun quickly wore off. I had to cross streams that went up to my waist, and balance on wooden planks that were no longer touching the ground but just floating in a large amount of water. After hiking for 20 miles one day I was just hoping to get into a dry shelter, but once I got there it was packed full of boy scouts and there were so many people tenting already, so I joined them, and I crawled into my wet sleeping bag in my wet clothes.

I’ve always told people that I don’t really make plans on the trail because they always end up changing, and here is a perfect example. My “Plan” was to keep hiking until I got to Monson, ME where I would take a day to get ready for the 100-mile wilderness. However, I was miserably wet and needed a day to dry out my gear so I decided to stop over in Caratunk in the morning.

So the next day I hiked about 4 miles to the Kennebec River and waited for the ferry service (a guy in a canoe) to bring me across as the Kennebec is too dangerous for hikers to ford. Once across I was basically in Caratunk, ME…which literally consists of a Post Office and a couple of different lodging places. The only reason that there are a few lodging places is because a little farther north is a rafting business.

I luckily managed to grab the last room at a B&B type place called the Sterling Inn. I ran into a couple of hikers there that I had not seen since Pennsylvania and we had a relaxing afternoon spent in front of the T.V. while putting together a puzzle. It was a time when I most needed a place to stay and recuperate from the storms of the last few days. It felt great to be dry and warm!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

September 12, 2012 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

